My new/old blog

Frankly, I’m not sure how I ended up here. I’m still going, “What? Wait…what?” That’s how fast the North Suburban Library System went from thriving, vibrant organization to out of business, thanks to the state of Illinois.  A group of very fine, talented, and hard-working people are being put out of work because the money budgeted is being withheld to the point where the organization can’t continue. Despite the fact that working cooperatively saves money, and the state is going to end up spending more by losing the infrastructure to manage some of their programs, the library systems are being allowed to collapse. It’s stupid and I’m angry.

So, my blog goes from being one of the NSLS blogs to being my own, and the one good thing about that is that now I can speak my mind without representing NSLS. The focus for now will continue to be working as a Youth Services librarian and manager, and your comments are very welcome.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My new/old blog

  1. Andrea says:

    It is stupid, and I’m angry too. And I cannot believe that our elected representatives have refused to even think about solving the problem, because doing something unpopular might cost them their jobs.

    Um, excuse me, but not doing anything about the biggest problem to hit the state in recent memory should also cost their jobs. Grr. I have lived in Illinois nearly my entire life, but this is enough to make me want to cut my losses and move elsewhere!

  2. I think many of us at NSLS are still feeling a little stunned by the turn of events. I am happy that your blog will continue and wish you much success with it!

  3. Sara McLaughlin says:

    Susan, I’m so glad you’re going to be continuing your blog! And thank you for writing of how unsettling all this NSLS business is. I’m very sad, and very angry as well. It’s tough to be grieving about yet one more thing, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

