There was a little turtle…

He lived in a box. He swam in the river and he climbed on the rocks. He snapped at a mosquito, he snapped at a flea, he snapped at a … at a … at a … WHAT?

Ever have one of those brain freezes during storytime? You are doing a finger play you have been doing for, you know, 25 YEARS, and suddenly you lose one of the words completely. This is me at the Rise & Shine Storytime on Thursday, in front of some 40 people. I flag down another librarian who happens to be passing by and say “Hey, Ms. Shelley! What is the turtle snapping at?” Ms. Shelley has no idea but suggests throwing in “dragonfly” and we go with that. The parents are mildly amused by the whole thing, and the kids of course just think the snapping motion is funny so they don’t care.

And that’s both the good news and the bad news about getting older. In my early career, I would have DIED of mortification over this. Now that I have reached a certain age, it just made me laugh. So that’s the good news–I no longer lose sleep over looking ridiculous. I now realize that I probably look ridiculous a fair amount of the time to someone, and who cares? Not me.
The bad news is, I’m going to need to begin preparing for my storytimes more thoroughly again. As you get older, the part of your brain that goes off and retrieves information does lose brain cells, and it’s just going to get harder. Reading Martha Lear’s Where Did I Leave My Glasses? was both reassuring and sobering as it confirmed that Yes, you really don’t remember things nearly as well as you get older but No, that doesn’t mean you have Alzheimers. So I’m going to begin working on some techniques now to help me as I age and the facts take longer to bubble up.

A minnow, by the way, is what the turtle was snapping at. A minnow. Remember that!
Where%20did%20I%20leave.jpg

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

