Snowflakes and Dr. Seuss

I’m going to be participating in a cool project over the next couple of months. Together a group of children’s lit-related bloggers will be helping to publicize the Robert’s Snow benefit created by children’s author/illustrator Grace Lin. A large number of children’s illustrators painted and otherwise embellished snowflakes which will be auctioned off to benefit sarcoma research at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. Sadly, the auction this year will be in memory of her late husband Robert, who lost his battle in August, but that makes it all the more important to spread the word. The snowflakes are gorgeous and there will be lots more info to come!

I also got the very good news this week that I’ll be a member of the 2009 Theodor Geisel Award Committee. Translated, that means I get to look at a year’s worth of easy readers and picture books and help to pick the best of the year in honor of Dr. Seuss! Fun and (let’s face facts) short books in honor of the person who wrote one of the first books I ever read–what could be better than that? I still have my copy of The Cat in the Hat, and I still have the picture of myself on the couch in the 1960s with my two brothers, each of us holding up our new Christmas copy of a Dr. Seuss book. Don’t tell my brother Andrew, but I also have his copy of Fox in Sox. Possession is 9/10ths of the law, right?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

